The Direct Digital Manufacturing Laboratory directed by Professor Suman Das is a part of the Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering and the Georgia Tech Manufacturing Institute. Our research laboratories totaling over 3000 square feet of space are instrumented with state-of-the-art equipment and facilties. Our labs are located in the Manufacturing Institute building and the Manufacturing Related Disciplines Complex (MRDC) building.

Laboratory Director
Professor Suman Das

Ph.D. Students
Ranadip Acharya
Shaun Eshraghi
Tao Wu

Dr. Anirudh Rudraraju (Ph.D. 2013), now with Intel, Portland, Oregon
Dr. Hassan Rashidi
Dr. Taiwo Raphael Alabi (Ph.D. 2013), now with Intel, Portland,Oregon
Dr. Rohan Bansal (Ph.D. 2013), now with Chart Industries, Buffalo, New York
Justin Gambone (M.S. 2012), now with GE Global Research Center, Niskayuna, New York)
Dr. Dajun Yuan (Research Engineer 2010-12, postdoctoral fellow 2008-10, and Ph.D. student 2004-08), now with Torrey Pines

Matthew Conrad (M.S. 2011)
Dr. Rui Guo (postdoctoral fellow 2009-11), now at GE Research Center, Shanghai.
Way Joe Lee
(B.S. 2010)
Michael Kirka (M.S. 2010)
Peng Shao (M.S. 2010)
Chan Yoon (Ph.D. 2010)
Siddharth Athreya (Ph.D. 2010, now at Dow Chemical Co, Midland, Michigan)
Kiran Rao Kambly (M.S. Thesis 2009, now pusuing a Ph.D. at Colorado State University)
Dr. Andres Lasagni (Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Fellow 2007-08), now at Fraunhofer Institute for Material and Beam Technology (IWS), Dresden, Germany
Dr. Haseung Chung, Assistant Professor, Hongik University, South Korea
James Santosa (M.S. Thesis 2002, now at Applied Materials, Santa Clara, CA)
Brock Partee (M.S. 2004, now at Raytheon, FL)
Antonio Vittorini (M.S. 2005, now at General Motors, MI)
Erwin Widjaja (M.S. 2005, now at Intel, Portland, OR)
Carolyn Wineland (M.S. 2005, now at Medtronic, CA)
Krishnan Ramaswamy (Boston Scientific and pursuing Ph.D. Biomedical Engineering)
Karlin Bark (now pursuing Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering at Stanford University)
Adebisi Adewunmi (now at Delphi Automotive, MI)
Elizabeth Beck (now at Overbreak LLC, CA)
Elizabeth Nelson
Cindy Chen
Prateek Gadhoke
Danya King
Amanda Engel
Justin Philips
Brian Boss
Patrick Conway
Michael Kirka
Eric Lankheet
Seth McCullum
Ben Coffer
Brett Lyons (now at Boeing, St. Louis)
Mihir Pathak

Research Laboratories
MARC 215 3-D Metrology Lab
MARC 319 Optical Direct-Write Laser Processing Lab
MARC 320 Selective Laser Sintering - Rapid Prototyping Lab
MRDC 2332 Direct Digital Laser Manufacturing Lab
MRDC 3323 Materials Analysis and Characterization Lab
MRDC 3340 Direct Digital Manufacturing of Airfoils Lab